23 New Universities Join the Partnership

TEA-LP received 33 responses to the Request for Proposals issued in October 2022.  We selected 23 new universities to join the partnership. They have all signed awards to join the partnership and receive funds to adopt and adapt our new masters’ level courses into their new or existing engineering related masters’ programmes.

31 universities in TEA-LP (names in red are new partners)

Teams from the 23 new universities are meeting up for the first time at a face-to-face workshop in Nairobi, 5-9 June. The workshop will be held at the premises of an existing partner, Strathmore University at Strathmore Business School. The workshop aims to support the uptake of three new courses, as well as to connect the new universities in a Community of Practice for energy access and the achievement of SDG7.  Under Work Package 1, TEA-LP has designed three new courses that will be included in the masters’ programmes of our new university partners. The three courses are as follows:

We held a Course Design Workshop in Cape Town in January to ensure the courses are aligned and complementary, and included tools for community engagement.

From left: Nomanesi Makhonco (TEA-LP), Moeketsi Mpholo (NUL), Leslie Ashburner (TEA-LP), Scott Kennedy (COMET) and Augustine Makokha (Moi University).

We gratefully acknowledge: